I am the Incredible Shrinking Woman!

I’m the incredible shrinking woman, and it’s affecting my sewing! I went to try on my Burda off the shoulder dress, thinking I only needed to finish the hem before I had a beautiful completed dress.  When I tried it on, I was so pleased, and so was my fiance. He took one look at me and said, “I would totally ravish you in that dress!”  Now that’s what you want to hear about your sewing!  But sorry, Eugene, there will be no ravishing in this dress the way it fits now.  I was so disappointed.  I had executed my first perfect lapped zipper, my first vent which blended seamlessly, and it was my first time working with slippery fabric.  This dress was turning out to be the best thing I have ever sewn.  But the collar was falling off at the shoulders, causing the bust to fit too loosely.  I tried adjusting the collar from the back, but after that was done it became apparent I would need to go into the lining and perform major dress alteration surgery.

Since I started this dress, I have lost 2 inches off my hips and bust, and I went down about a size and a half in Burda sizes.  This is great news for my upcoming wedding in June, but terrible for sewing!  Every week I am losing half an inch all around, so by the time I finish a project, it will no longer fit! What’s a girl to do? Give up losing weight? I think not–I have a wedding dress to fit into! Should I give up sewing?  Well, I have for a couple weeks after that frustrating experience, but that’s not the answer either.  I think I just need to start cutting things a size smaller, and hope that by the time I finish it fits!

I have been trying to summon the courage to get back into the guts of the lining and rip out the bust so I can make it smaller.  I better get on that fast, before the whole thing is falling off of me!

Leave a Reply

